WhatsApp Has Modified Its “Delete For Everyone” Feature: HumSub.TV

63

WhatsApp Has Modified Its “Delete For Everyone” Feature

WhatsApp Has Modified Its “Delete For Everyone” Feature: WhatsApp has modified its ‘delete for everyone’ feature to stop users from deleting older delivered messages.

According to the new update, users will not be able to delete sent messages after 13 hours, eight minutes and 16 seconds unless the recipient has got the notification, WAbetaInfo reported.

The changes have been implemented to stop users from using the feature to delete messages sent weeks, months and even years ago.

If you delete a message for everyone but the recipient hasn’t received the notification within 13 hours, eight minutes and 16 seconds (maybe because their phone was turned off) the message will not be withdrawn.

WhatsApp has updated the “Recipient limit”.

What does it mean? If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won’t receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will **not** be revoked.

The WhatsApp feature was launched in December last year. Earlier, the limit to delete a message was seven minutes. This was later increased to one hour and eight minutes and 16 seconds.

Whatsapp has now made it mandatory that the recipient also receives the message to be able to delete it from everyone’s WhatsApp account.

WhatsApp Has Modified Its “Delete For Everyone” Feature
WhatsApp Has Modified Its “Delete For Everyone” Feature

Deleting messages

You can delete messages for everyone or just for yourself.

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

To delete messages for everyone:

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.

  • Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

Note:

In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.

(*) If you or your recipients are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.

  • Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful.
  • You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.
  • You only have about an hour after you’ve sent a message to Delete for Everyone.

To delete messages for yourself

Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your copy of messages you’ve sent or received from your phone. This has no effect on your recipients’ chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen. To delete messages for yourself:

  • Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
  • Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  • Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for me.

For More Information & Videos Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel

Read More News & Articles

Leave a Reply