PSL 2017: Foreign players announce their decisions


While many players have refused to play Pakistan Super League (PSL) final in Lahore, few international cricketers have agreed on travelling to Pakistan in case their teams qualify for the final.

Quetta Gladiators was the first team to qualify for the final but its foreign players have refused to play the final in Lahore.

Opening batsman Luke Wright, after winning the first play-off against Peshawar Zalmi on Tuesday, tweeted: “It’s with a heavy heart I will not be coming to Lahore. I have a young family and for me a game of cricket is just not worth the risk”.

Tymal Mills, Nathan McCullum and Kevin Pietersen also announced their unavailability for the match over security concerns.

Islamabad United’s Shane Watson, Brad Haddin and Ben Deckitt have also chickened out from coming to Lahore, while foreign commentators including Dany Morrison and Alan Wilkins have also turned down the invitation.

On the other hand, Peshawar Zalmi’s Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels have given their consent to the management on playing the final in Lahore.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here